Activities and Attractions

Low Carbon Experiences

Rainy days 

Galleries, Museums, Sites

Haynes International Motor Museum, 6 miles, http://www.haynesmotormuseum.com/

Sherborne Abbey, 6 miles, http://sherborneabbey.com/

Sherborne Castle, 7 miles, http://www.sherbornecastle.com/

Sherborne Museum, 6 miles, http://www.sherbornemuseum.co.uk/

Fleet Air Arm Museum, 10 miles, http://www.fleetairarm.com/

Hauser and Worth, 6 miles, https://www.hauserwirthsomerset.com/

Bruton Museum and Town, 8 miles, http://www.brutontown.com/index.cfm?C_id=4

Sustainable Cooking Classes

Gilbert & Swayne, chocolate making course, 17 miles, https://www.gilbertandswayne.co.uk/

Burns The Bread, bread making course, 22 miles, http://www.burnsthebread.co.uk/

Yoga

Yoga Valley, 14 miles, https://www.yogavalley.co.uk/

Madeleine Scott Yoga, 22 miles, https://www.madeleinescottyoga.com/

Ashtanga Yoga Glastonbury, 22 miles, https://www.ashtangayogaglastonbury.com/

Spas

The Pig Near Bath Spa, 30 miles, https://www.thepighotel.com/near-bath/spa-treatments-somerset/

The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, 36 miles, https://www.royalcrescent.co.uk/the-spa/

 

Outdoor & Active 

 

Towns

Sherborne, 6 miles; beautiful Dorset town distinguished by Abbey, Castle and local stone architecture, https://www.visit-dorset.com/explore/areas-to-visit/sherborne/

Castle Cary, 6 miles; market town distinguished by the Market House, honey colored stone and independent shops,  http://www.castle-cary.co.uk/the-market-house/https://www.visitsomerset.co.uk/discover-somerset/south-somerset/market-towns-in-south-somerset/south-somerset-(1)/castle-cary-(1)

Bruton, 9 miles; home to world renowned gallery (Hauser & Wirth), independent shops , sweet cafes and delicious restaurants, https://www.visitsomerset.co.uk/discover-somerset/south-somerset/market-towns-in-south-somerset/south-somerset-(1)/bruton-(1)

Shaftesbury, 12 miles, http://www.shaftesburydorset.com/

Wells, 22 miles, https://www.wellssomerset.com/

Glastonbury, 24 miles, https://glastonbury.uk/visit/

Bath, 35 miles; a World Heritage Site with a Roman bath house, theaters, museums, galleries, shops and restaurants set among the cobbled Georgian streets.

The Newt in Somerset

The Newt in Somerset is a country estate with magnificent woodland and gardens.

7 miles, https://thenewtinsomerset.com/

Whats on? https://thenewtinsomerset.com/whats-on

Gardens

The Gardens at The Newt, 7 miles, https://thenewtinsomerset.com/

Stourhead House and Garden, 6 miles; wonderful garden and house, https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/stourhead

 

Cycling

Local cycle routes: https://www.somerset.gov.uk/waste-planning-and-land/walking-and-cycling-maps/

Somerset Bike Hire, 36 miles, http://www.somersetbikehire.co.uk/

Dorset Cycles, 5 miles, https://www.stalbridge.info/dorset-cycles-of-stalbridge.html

Walking

Cadbury Castle, 7 miles, https://www.visitsomerset.co.uk/discover-somerset/inspiration/history-and-heritage/cadbury-castle  -  ancient and mythical, this Bronze Age hill fort is also known by many as Camelot, and is believed to be the location of the castle and court of King Arthur.

Alfreds Tower, 6 miles, https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/stourhead/trails/stourhead-king-alfreds-tower-walk

Sherborne Walks, 6 miles, http://www.sherbornewalks.co.uk/

Local walking routes:

https://getoutside.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/local/horsington-south-somerset

https://www.countryfile.com/go-outdoors/walks/best-walks-in-somerset/

https://www.somerset.gov.uk/waste-planning-and-land/walks-and-trails-in-somerset/

Golf

Sherborne Golf Club, 7 miles, https://www.sherbornegolfclub.co.uk/

Yeovil Golf Club, 12 miles, https://www.yeovilgolfclub.com/

Horse Riding

Pevlings Farm Riding and Livery Stables, 1 mile, https://www.pevlingsfarm.co.uk/

Canoeing

Sutton bingham and District Canoe Club, 16 miles, https://suttonbingham.wixsite.com/canoeclub

Other Things To Do

Gartell Light Railway, Templecombe, 3 miles (children young and old!), http://www.glr-online.co.uk/

Wincanton Racecourse, 5 miles, http://wincanton.thejockeyclub.co.uk/

Castle Hill, Shaftesbury, 12 miles (Hovis Advertisement!)

Royal Bath and West Showground, 13 miles, https://www.bathandwest.com/

Mere Down Falconry, 12 miles, https://www.meredownfalconry.co.uk/

Aerosaurus Balloons (Hot Air), 14 miles, https://www.ballooning.co.uk/

Further Reading

https://www.voguehk.com/en/article/art-lifestyle/somerset-guide/

https://www.tatler.com/article/the-tatler-guide-to-north-east-somerset

https://goop.com/it-en/travel/culture/go-now-hauser-wirth-somerset/

https://www.cntraveller.com/article/guide-to-somerset-uk